Research Team

Research at the Center for Advanced Subsurface Earth Resource Models is conducted by an interdisciplinary team of researchers from the Colorado School of Mines and Virginia Tech with expertise in economic geology, geochemistry, geophysics, spatial statistics, high-performance computing, mining, minerals engineering, and mechanical engineering.

Academic Leadership Team

Thomas Monecke

CASERM Director, Mines
Professor
Economic Geology, VMS Deposits, Hydrothermal Geochemistry, Archean Geology
tmonecke@mines.edu
303-273-3841

Erik Westman

CASERM Site Director, VT
Professor
3-D Seismic Time-Lapse Imaging, Reserve Estimation with Geographic Information Systems
ewestman@vt.edu
540-231-7510

Elizabeth Holley

CASERM Site Director, Mines
Associate Professor
Mineral Exploration, Production, Processing, and Reclamation
eholley@mines.edu
303-273-3409

Mary Carr

CASERM Manager, Mines
Research Assistant Professor
Sedimentology, Eolian Systems
mcarr@mines.edu
303-273-3107

Research Team

Zhaoshan Chang

Professor, Mines
Economic Geology, Skarn Deposits, Porphyry Deposits, LA-ICP-MS, Magma Fertility
zchang@mines.edu
303-384-2127

John Chermak

Associate Professor, VT
Geochemistry of Fluid-Mineral Interactions
jchermak@vt.edu
540-231-2499

Matthias Chung

Associate Professor, VT
Computational Applications of Inverse Problems; Machine Learning
mcchung@vt.edu
540-231-3446

Sebnem Düzgün

Professor, Mines
VR and Gaming for Earth Sciences; Uncertainty Analysis and Risk Assessment for Rock Slopes; Mine Environmental Monitoring; Infrastructure Resilience
duzgun@mines.edu
303-384-2357

Ben Frieman

Research Assistant Professor, Mines
Structural Geology, Tectonics
bfrieman@mines.edu
303-273-3854

Robert Gramacy

Professor, VT
Applied Computational Statistics; Spatial Statistics; Machine Learning
rbg@vt.edu
540-231-5657

John Hole

Professor, VT
Seismic and Radar Subsurface Imaging; Inversion
hole@vt.edu
540-231-3858

Elizabeth Holley

Associate Professor, Mines
Mineral Exploration, Production, Processing, and Reclamation
eholley@mines.edu
303-273-3409

Lenna House

Associate Professor, VT
Bayesian Statistical Modeling Uncertainty Analysis of Computer Models; Data Mining Coupled With Data Visualization
lhouse@vt.edu
540-231-2256

Yaoguo Li

Professor, Mines
Geophysical Inverse Theory; Gravity, Magnetic and Electrical Methods in Resource Exploration
ygli@mines.edu
303-273-3510

Eileen Martin

Assistant Professor, Mines
Analysis of Large Sensor Networks; Fiber-Optic Sensing; Passive Seismic Methods; Data-Intensive High Performance Computing
eileenrmartin@mines.edu

Thomas Monecke

Professor, Mines
Economic Geology, VMS Deposits, Hydrothermal Geochemistry, Archean Geology
tmonecke@mines.edu
303-273-3841

Katharina Pfaff

Research Associate Professor, Mines
Mineralogy and Mineral Chemistry of Hydrothermal Systems
kpfaff@mines.edu
303-384-2487

Ryan Pollyea

Associate Professor, VT
Geostatistics and Machine Learning; Multi-Component Fluid Flow; Fracture Systems
rpollyea@vt.edu
540-231-7929

Nicholas Polys

Director Visual Computing, VT
Intersection of Visualization, Virtual Environments, and Perception
npolys@vt.edu
540-231-0968

Luis Tenorio

Associate Professor, Mines
Quantification of Uncertainty; Design Methods for Inverse Problems
ltenorio@mines.edu
303-273-3878

Erik Tharalson

Post-Doctoral Fellow
Epithermal Au-Ag Deposits, Physical Volcanology, Igneous Petrology, Mafic-ultramafic Related Ni-Cu-PGE Deposits
etharals@mines.edu

Hua Wang

Associate Professor, Mines
Machine Learning and Data Mining
huawang@mines.edu
303-384-2326

Gabriel Walton

Associate Professor, Mines
Rock Mechanics; Numerical Modeling of Slopes and Underground Works; Rockmass Characterization;
Applications of Geophysics and Remote Sensing in Geological Engineering
gwalton@mines.edu
303-384-2235

Erik Westman

Professor, VT
3-D Seismic Time-Lapse Imaging, Reserve Estimation with Geographic Information Systems
ewestman@vt.edu
540-231-7510

Wendy Zhou

Professor, Mines
GIS Applications; Environmental Impact Studies and Geohazard Zonation; SAR and PSInSAR Applications in Ground Movement Monitoring
wzhou@mines.edu
303-384-2181

Graduate Students

NameSite (Department)
Hakan AyazMines (Mining Engineering)
Ryan ChristiansonVT (Department of Statistics)
Alexandra Joseph Mines (Computer Science)
Michael KirschbaumMines (Geology and Geological Engineering)
Miranda Lehman Mines (Geology and Geological Engineering)
Sage Langston-Stewart Mines (Geology and Geological Engineering)
Daniel SchmidtMines (Geology and Geological Engineering)
Hoon Seo Mines (Computer Science)
Alexander VidalMines (Applied Mathematics and Statistics)

Undergraduate Students

NameSite (Department)
Mamadou BaVT (Mining Engineering)
Elizabeth BruceMines (Geophysical Engineering)
Kane BruceMines (Computer Science)
Garek ElieVT (Mining Engineering)
Joseph FlemingVT (Mining Engineering)
Nina GuizzettiMines (Geological Engineering)
Ryland HansonVT (Computational Modeling and Data Analytics)
Ben HarringtonVT (Mining Engineering)
Owen PottsVT (Mining Engineering)
Joshua RummelhartMines (Computer Science)